November- Athlete of the Month, Jacky

5
Nov

November- Athlete of the Month, Jacky

In general, what is your background? Where are you from, education, sports etc.

I was born in Germany and came to the US when I was in my early 20’s.  My family and I have lived all over the world before returning to the US three years ago. I went to nursing school in Germany and have a master’s in Global Health from Trinity College Dublin. 

Age, Occupation?

50, Registered Nurse 

How did you get to know about CrossFit and why did you start?

My husband and oldest son Peter started Crossfit when we were in Ireland. I went to see what all the fuss was about. Also as mom’s taxi I figured I’d try a class rather than just waiting for Peter and later Charles to finish. 

How has CrossFit changed your life, lifestyle, level of fitness?

It has been a great experience both physically and socially. I have made great friends while getting fitter. Most importantly I love working out with Peter and Charles. It is so rewarding watching them get stronger and fitter all the time. 

Name one goal and/or personal record you would like to accomplish through CrossFit.

A muscle up. 

Favorite CrossFit moment so far?

Toes to bar or rope climbs 

What do you like most about Catoctin CrossFit?

The People 

Favorite WOD?

Anything with toes to bar and rope climbs

Least Favorite WOD?

Anything with snatches or thrusters

Favorite Movement?

Still toes to bar and rope climbs but ask again maybe it will change

Least favorite movement?

Muscle Up 

Favorite place or food to eat locally?

Yummy Pig in Leesburg or Ashby Inn